The Foundation Committee

The Foundation Committee consists of at least seven (currently 10) members, two of whom are nominated and delegated by the Glarus state government. At its first meeting on 16 February 1973, the Foundation Committee passed a motion by Fritz Zwicky (citizen of Mollis) that the current president of the political municipality of Mollis GL be, ex officio, a Committee member.

Prof. Walter Custer († 1992) was president of the Foundation until 1988. He was succeeded by Prof. Dr. Paul Wild (†  2014), who had been Zwicky’s assistant on Mt. Wilson from 1951 to 1955. At Paul Wild’s resignation, for health reasons, Dr. sc. Alfred Stöckli assumed the office in 2005.

Paul Dubach acted as the first secretary until his death in 1979. He was succeeded by Dr. Roland Müller, who in 1992 was followed by Bruno Heiz, who held the post until his sudden death in 1998. Hansjörg Rytz resigned from the post in 2005 and Dr. ing. chem. Max Weber in 2021. Since then, Dr. phil. Matthias Golling helds the office.

Members of the Foundation Committee

(status november 2021)
  • Alfred Stöckli Dr. sc. techn., Kännelstrasse 5, 8753 Mollis (President)
  • Matthias Golling, Dr. phil. (Secretary)
  • Peter Aebli, lic. phil. HSG, Lurigenstrasse 17, 8750 Glarus (Treasurer)
  • Anton Schriber, dipl. phys. ETH, Waldstrasse 5, 8777 Betschwanden (Webadmin)
  • Petra Imwinkelried, Glarus cantonal library, Hauptstrasse 60, 8750 Glarus
  • Matthias Liebendörfer, Prof. Dr. phil., St. Alban-Anlage 65, 4052 Basel
  • Roland Müller, Dr. phil. I, economic psychologist, Münstergasse 5, 8001 Zürich
  • Steve Nann, municipal delegate, Fronalpstrasse19, 8867 Niederurnen
  • Franziska Pfenninger-Zwicky, Leigrüppenstrasse 50, 8932 Mettmenstetten
  • Margrit Zwicky, lic. phil., Kirchbergstrasse 42, 3008 Bern

Questions pertaining to the mandate of the Foundation may be directed to the Secretary:

Questions and proposals regarding the homepage may be directed to: